Lance’s Top 5 Albums of the Decade

Someone once wrote in a music review that our generation currently possesses the ability to listen to more music, in more ways than any generation that has preceded us. It’s a strange thought, really. I’ve all but abandoned my car radio for my iPod; I read 5 different internet music ‘zines before taking the recommendation of a friend of mine in Baltimore via Facebook of a new band that put some demos on MySpace. And did I mention YouTube?

Anyways, for our first music post, we came to a decision: rather than give 3 long, overlapping “Best of 2009″ lists, we would shorten (and expand) to a Top 5 format, so that readers could get a better idea of the tastes and leanings of the individual writers at this blog.

So, here goes (in no particular order):

Burial - Untrue

Burial – Untrue (2007)

I drove down a lot of dark, moonlit roads bumping the hell out of this album. If it’s 3 A.M and the ghost-vocals in this album don’t make you feel alive, the (trademark!) woodblock-2-step-garage-loving percussion will.


___

TVOTR - Young Liars EP

TV on the Radio – Young Liars EP (2003)

Every person I know has heard me tell the story about how I drunkly ran into Tunde Adebimpe in the Ottobar when this EP first came out. He also signed my burned copy of said EP, along with David Sitek and Kyp Malone. Anyways, that moment was awesome and this EP is fantastic. On some Al Green-meets-Slowdive ‘ish. ^_^


___

Sigur Ros

Sigur Rós – Ágætis Byrjun (2000*)

I bought this album in some random Seattle-based record store and the sheer sonic force of the first half of the record practically sent me into a state of ecstasy. Or so it seemed…I miss my teenage sense of melodrama.


___

Broadcast - HaHa Sound

Broadcast – HaHa Sound (2003)

I love Broadcast. I love everything about them. The lyrics, The retro-futuristic aesthetic, the live show with the film projector(s), everything. HaHa Sound was my first Broadcast album, and therefore, my favorite.


___

Antony - I Am A Bird Now

Antony & The Johnsons – I Am A Bird Now (2005)

Won’t bother to lie…When I still owened a walkman (remember those?), I put this album on and walked down some street in Baltimore and “Hope There’s Someone” tore me to bits. Now that there is no “Antony”, only “ANTONY!!”, it’s kind of hard to remember that first “WTF” feeling that these songs gave me. A modern classic.

-Honorable Mentions-
Björk – Vespertine (2001)
Espers – II (2006)
Animal Collective – Feels (2005)
Flying Lotus – Los Angeles (2008)
Sufjan Stevens – Greetings from Michigan (2003)
The Clientele – Suburban Light (2000)
Serena Maneesh – Serena Maneesh (2005)

-Lance

*Note that while this record came out in Iceland in 99′ and on a really small label in the US, FatCat picked the album up and released it in 2000. So, it’s on my list, even though I might have the 99 version. ^_^

Leave a Reply

